How does BeneTrac Integrate with BambooHR?
Purpose: To help you understand what BeneTrac is used for and how you can integrate it with BambooHR.
Experience the freedom of BeneTrac's paperless enrollment and online benefit management. It's the internet-based benefit software that simplifies administration. BeneTrac provides real-time access 24/7 for both administrators and employees. Just imagine how benefits data can be changed, updated or reviewed at any time, from any location.
You can learn more about BeneTrac in BambooHR's Marketplace.
This integration requires additional configuration by the BambooHR support team.
If you haven't done so already, you will need to contact BeneTrac to set up an account.
Then send your BeneTrac Status options and your BeneTrac Site ID to the BambooHR support team and they will install the integration for you.
This information can be found in BambooHR's Marketplace. For more information, please click here to learn more about syncing fields.
BambooHR will only send new hire information or changes to the syncing fields for existing employees. ALL enrollments, mid-year changes, open enrollment changes, etc. need to be done directly in BeneTrac. For this reason, BambooHR will hide the Benefits tab on the employee profile, including the Dependents table.
Currently, the BeneTrac integration will not do the following:
- Send information from BeneTrac back into BambooHR.
- Automatically enroll employees in benefits.
- Add any spouses or dependents to BeneTrac.
- Provide single sign-on access to BeneTrac from BambooHR.
To avoid potential confusion related to where the master record for dependent and spouse information will be stored, BambooHR will hide the Benefits tab on the employee profile, including the Dependents table.
We recommend that BambooHR is used as the master record of employee data. You will want to be sure to correctly terminate an employee in BambooHR to ensure that the employee is terminated in BeneTrac and therefore, the benefits are terminated as well.
The "BeneTrac Status" field (located in the Employment Status table within BambooHR) is the main determining factor as to whether an employee is active or inactive. For example, if a customer were to terminate an employee within BeneTrac only, the BambooHR profile would still show an active employee with an active BeneTrac Status. When the sync runs, BeneTrac would detect that the employee was listed as active in BambooHR and terminated in BeneTrac and the request update would be created. If a customer then approved this request within BeneTrac, that would result in the terminated BeneTrac employee being reactivated. While this is an unlikely scenario, this is why we recommend taking the appropriate steps within BambooHR first.
CAUTION: If an employee is terminated in BambooHR and then the request is approved by the customer, the employee will be terminated in BeneTrac. This means that all benefits applied to that profile will also be terminated, and BeneTrac will send the termination of that employee's benefits to all affected carriers.
When an information transfer is triggered, the employee profile will be sent over to BeneTrac regardless of whether they are eligible for benefits or not. In other words, all employee profiles (including any individuals who may be part-time employees) can potentially be sent to BeneTrac. Please note that the customer will need to decline any pending requests for employees not eligible for benefits to avoid having a new profile created in BeneTrac.
BeneTrac updates information based off of the Social Security Number field. As long as the SSN field in BambooHR matches the same information within BeneTrac, then a new BeneTrac record will not be entered into the pending queue for approval and possible duplication of information. Please note, however, that if the SSN is changed within BambooHR, the employee profile will be sent to BeneTrac and appear as a new employee.
Making changes to any field on an employee profile in BambooHR will trigger a transfer of information. All updated information is sent in a single transfer to BeneTrac once per day (after 04:00 UTC) and the changed data will then appear in BeneTrac's pending queue for approval or denial.
Additionally, an option exists to re-synch all data and send a fresh copy of all employee profiles to BeneTrac (see screenshot below). This is done in BambooHR by clicking on the "Apps" icon, and then clicking the "manage" link in the BeneTrac App. On the next page, customers can click the "Synchronize Now" button after checking the boxes for both Active and Inactive employees.
This page will also show a record of the most recent update. Currently, the administrator of the BeneTrac account will receive an email notification directly from BeneTrac notifying them that a new file has been uploaded to their "secure upload center." The customer will then need to log into BeneTrac and approve the pending requests.