Change Account Owner

How do I change the Account Owner?

Purpose: To show how you, as the current Account Owner, can reassign the Account Owner to someone else.

Account Section

In Settings, navigate to the Account Info page in the Accounts section. Under Account Owner, select Change.

The Change link is only available to the current Account Owner. Once the ownership is changed, only the new Account Owner can access the Change link.

Change Account Owner

From the drop-down menu, select the new Account Owner, and then click Save.

Note: Only current Full Admin users will appear in the drop-down menu. If the new Account Owner is not listed, you will need to change the user to Full Admin access before selecting them in the list.

Once you change the Account Owner, you will no longer have access to the entire account, including the Account page. Instead, you will have Full Admin access. You can learn about the differences between the Account Owner and Full Admin here

Also, you will not be able to upgrade, downgrade, or change billing information.

What if the Account Owner is no longer with the company?

If you are no longer able to contact the Account Owner, our Support Heroes can help you make that change. We take the security of your data very seriously so there are verification processes we follow. Because of this, the process may take several business days.


What's next?

Do you know the difference between the Account Owner and a Full Admin user?

Do you need to update your billing address? Reach out to billing@bamboohr.com.

Do you need to update your credit card information?