Add Hours to my Timesheet
How do I Add Hours to my Timesheet?
Purpose: Adding your work hours to BambooHR can be done on Bamboo Home or on the Timesheet tab on the employee's profile. This guide will show you how to add hours on the Timesheet tab. If you want to see how to add hours on Bamboo Home, click here.
Single Daily Entry
To enter hours worked, navigate to the "Timesheet" tab on your employee profile. Click in the box next to the day and enter the number of hours worked. Then click "Save Changes." Once you add your time, you will see a note icon. If a note is added, a green note icon will appear next to the entry on the timesheet.
Hours will always be displayed as 00h 00m but they can be added or edited in the following formats:
If a decimal is entered, the hours will be rounded to the nearest minute. Hours can be edited until they have been approved. Once they have been approved, only Full Admin users will be able to make any edits.
Multiple Daily Entries (Without Time Clock)
Multiple Daily Entries without the time clock allows you to manually enter your hours worked multiple times a day.
- Simply click "Add Time Entry" on the appropriate day. You will then see a pop-up box where you can enter the time segment. Next to the time segment, you can click the note icon to add a note associated with the time entered. You can add each time segment individually throughout the day or you can enter all time segments in at the end of the day.
- All time entries will be collapsed on previous days and only show the first clock in and the last clock out. Click on the day to show you all entries for that day.
If you have edit access to your timesheet, you will be able to hover over the time entry and click the pencil icon to make changes to the times you were clocked in and out. The pencil icon will not appear if you are currently clocked in. Additionally, you will be able to add time segments to previous days as long as the timesheet for the corresponding pay period has not been approved yet. If the timesheet has been approved, only a Full Admin user has access to edit hours worked.
Multiple Daily Entries (Time Clock)
If the time clock is enabled in your account, you will see an option to "Clock In" on the Timesheet tab on your employee profile. Simply click "Clock In" when you are ready to start working. Once you are clocked in, hover over the clock to add a note with your time.
When you take a break, click "Clock Out" and the time will be recorded. A history of all time tracked will show on the current day in your timesheet. You will see a note icon next to the time entry if a note was added. Additionally, you will see an option to manually "+Add Time Entry." This option will only show if you are not currently clocked in.
Please note you will not be able to clock in if you have a future manual entry. For example, if I enter time manually for this afternoon but I want to use the time clock this morning, then I need to wait to enter my time manually for this afternoon until after I have clocked out this morning. This prevents manual time entries from overlapping with the time clock.
If you have edit access* to your timesheet, you will be able to hover over the time entry and click the pencil icon to make changes to the times you were clocked in and out. Once hours are approved, you will no longer be able to make changes.
If time covers two work days, time will automatically be recorded at midnight the employee's time. A clock out at 12:00 AM will be recorded and a clock in at 12:00 AM will be recorded.
*If you want to restrict your employees to only use the clock in and clock out feature instead of edit or add entries manually, you will need to give employees view-only access to timesheets.
There is no limit on the number of time entries per day.
If an employee forgets to clock out, they will be notified the next time they log in to clock out. This notification will show if the employee's clock-in time was the previous calendar day or earlier AND the clock-in time was over 14 hours ago. The employee's options for clocking out will depend on the access they have to their timesheet.
View Only Access to Timesheet
If an employee only has view access to their timesheet, they will see an option to "Clock Out" in the My Info widget on Home. Or, they can navigate to the Timesheet tab to clock out. (see below)
Once the employee clicks "Clock Out," they will see the message above letting them know they should reach out to their manager in order to correct their timesheet. Once they click "Clock Out," it will record the total amounts of hours since they last clocked in and they will have an option to clock in again. They will need to reach out to their manager, or a user with edit access to timesheets, in order to have the hours modified.
View and Edit Access to Timesheet
If an employee has view and edit access to their timesheet, they will see an option to "Verify Time & Clock Out" in the My Info widget on Home. Or, they can navigate to the Timesheet tab to clock out. (see below)
Once the employee clicks to verify their time, they will see the message above. This allows them to enter the correct clock out time. Once the time is updated and they click "Clock Out," the hours worked will be correctly modified and they will have the option to clock in again.